Log in

AISD artists fare well in Parker County Student Art Show


The Weatherford Art Association has announced the winners of its annual art competition for the students of Parker County in grades 6-12, and the winners list included several students in the Aledo ISD. The show is sponsored by the Weatherford Art Association as part of the National Art Education Association Youth Art Month event for March and is coordinated by Kathy Cunning, WAA Student Show Chair. This year’s show was online.

Open to all art students in Parker County, entries were submitted through their on-campus art teacher and the cost was one dollar per entry with a limit of three entries per student, per category.  Teachers could submit fifteen entries per category. All monies collected were returned to the students in the form of prize money. 

This year’s show had 269 entries submitted by sixteen teachers from Aledo ISD, Millsap ISD, Weatherford ISD, and Brock ISD. The Show was judged by Marilyn Ivy, former Master Educator for the Kimbell Art Museum and member of the Weatherford Art Association. A slide show of the winning entries can be viewed at https://www.weatherfordart.com/ or https://www.facebook.com/WeatherfordArtAssociation .

Winners in the show were:

Art 1 grades 6-8
  1. Samantha San-Agustin
  2. Emelyn Sims
  3. Preston Sims

Honorable Mentions: Brynham Thorton ,Christian Kell, Gioranna Melo-Sanchez, Hailey Frias, J. Sloan, Tiffany Sustaita.

Art 2 grades 7-8
  1. Macy Bradley
  2. Jetta Hess - McAnally Middle School
  3. Chaylee Fron

Honorable Mentions: Macy Bradley, Angie Alamilla, Avery Kats, Braedon Wojtylak, Catelynn Bartel, Chaylee Fron, Jeanett Hernandez, Kate Kerner, Kaiden Wade

Art 1 grades 9-12
  1. Ari Storms - Aledo HS
  2. Jasmine Nguyen
  3. Mars Luna - Aledo HS
    Honorable Mentions: Tristan Higley, Bella McCorkel, Brianna Hines, Carson Bobbitt, Natalie Valerio, Reagen Tomlin, Tyler Lewis, Miranda Tinoco.
Art 2 grades 9-12
  1. Sorin Hohman - Aledo High School
  2. Madeline Gordy - Aledo High School
  3. Cory Tilley - Aledo High School

Honorable Mentions: Abigail Huber, Abigail Powell, Annie Henry, Babs Belle, Dani Carpenter, Jade Ortiz, Lauren Leite, Shelby Turk, Vanessa Ramirez

Art 3-4
  1. Cayleigh Garner - Aledo High School
  2. Lainey Vollmer
  3. Skylar Bahon

Honorable Mentions: Aubrie Freeze, Alex Irish, Jordon Joes, Sam Rodriquez, Tanner Bussey

Advanced Placement
  1. Sage Symns - Aledo High School
  2. Graciela Gonzales - Aledo high School
  3. Madison Warner

Honorable Mentions: Avalon Griggs, Aria Jaramillo, Graciela Gonzalez, Jackie Hall, Kathryn Manus, Savannah Reagan, Samantha Porter

  1. Elliott Ludwick
  2. Olivia Fowler
  3. E DeLaGarza

Honorable Mentions: Addison Nelson, Finn Harney, Maya Pulis, Savannah Headrick, Jordan Clift


The Weatherford Art Association is soliciting donations for the 2024 Parker County Student Art Show. Donations towards awards and prizes for the students can be made at www.WeatherfordArt.com/Donations-payments.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here