Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419

 

“Unearthed” Exhibit

January 23, 2012 by Anonymous

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Mon Apr 02 2012 .
Tue, 01/31/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/01/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/02/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/04/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/07/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/08/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/09/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/10/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/11/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/14/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/15/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/16/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/17/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/18/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/21/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/22/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02/23/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02/24/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02/25/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02/28/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02/29/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/01/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/02/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/03/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/06/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/07/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/08/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/09/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/10/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/13/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/14/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/15/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/16/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/17/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/20/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/21/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/22/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/23/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/24/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03/27/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03/28/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03/29/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03/30/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03/31/2012 - 10:00am - 5:00pm

"Unearthed"

The Doss Heritage and Culture Center will host the “Unearthed” exhibit through April 1 in the Cartwright Gallery, featuring artists E.O. “Ted” Hemenway and Dwain Kelley. Hemenway’s work, Texas Wildwood Originals, started as a hobby but has become a passion for the artist. The natural materials he uses are gathered from ranches all around Texas. Species used are pecan, oak, walnut, bois d’ arc (or simply “bodark” here in Texas), birds-eye maple, cedar and his most used wood-mesquite. Dwain Kelley calls his pieces Sculptural Assemblages and uses a palette of old wood, metals, gold leaf, cloth, glass, rocks, or new materials aged to emulate the look of another time. He describes his work as “grounded in the unearthing of another time.” The DHCC is located at 1400 Texas Drive in Weatherford. Hours are Tuesday - Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday 1 - 5 p.m.

"Unearthed"

"Unearthed"

Sports Calendar

Tuesday, December 2

  • Aledo Bearcats vs. Birdville, B 6 p.m., A 4:30 p.m., JV 6 p.m. and Varsity 7:30 p.m.

  • Aledo Ladycats at Springtown, Freshmen 5:30 p.m., JV 5:30 p.m. and Varsity 7 p.m.

Thursday, December 4

  • Aledo Ladycats Freshmen and JV at Mineral Wells Invitational

  • Aledo Bearcats B, A, JV and Varsity at Weatherford New Car Dealers Tournament

  • Aledo Ladycats Varsity at Fort Worth Cowtown Classic

Tuesday, December 9

  • Aledo Bearcats vs. Stephenville at Aledo High School, B 6 p.m., A 4:30 p.m., JV 6 p.m. and Varsity 7:30 p.m.

  • Aledo Ladycats at Granbury, Freshmen 5 p.m., JV 5 p.m. and Varsity 6:30 p.m., *District Game

Thursday, December 11

  • Aledo Bearcats B, A, JV and Varsity at Decatur Tournament

Monday, December 15

  • Aledo Bearcats vs. Southwest at Aledo High School, B 5 p.m., A 5 p.m. and JV 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, December 16

  • Aledo Ladycats vs. Cleburne at Aledo High School, Freshmen 5 p.m., JV 5 p.m. and Varsity 6:30 p.m., *District Game

Friday, December 19

  • Aledo Bearcats vs. Joshua at Aledo High School, A 8 p.m., JV 5 p.m. and Varsity 6:30 p.m., *District Game

  • Aledo Ladycats vs. Joshua at Aledo High School, Freshmen 6:30 p.m., JV 5 p.m. and Varsity 8 p.m., *District Game

Monday, December 29

  • Aledo Bearcats Varsity at Moritz Auto Group Holiday Classic, Aledo

  • Aledo Ladycats Varsity at Fibermax Caprock Classic, Lubbock

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes