Skip to main content

The Community News

The Community News • P.O. Box 1031 • 203 Pecan Dr. • Aledo, TX 76008 • 817-441-7661 • FAX: 817-441-5419


Zonta Club of Parker County awards scholarships, names Clubwoman of the Year

May 23, 2011 by Anonymous

At its annual Status of Women luncheon May 4, the Zonta Club of Parker County awarded more than $13,000 in scholarships to 14 Parker County women and named Roxanne Hobart, incoming club vice president, as its 2011 Clubwoman of the Year.

Receiving scholarships - and their major and college or university - were:

§ Catherine Lundy-Peterson of Weatherford, marketing and fashion merchandising, Stephen F. Austin;
§ Elisa Gomez of Weatherford, medical, Weatherford College
§ Chandler Spooner, Weatherford, nursing, WC/TCU
§ Christie Dossey, Weatherford, accounting, WC
§ Diana Steedley, Weatherford, nursing, WC
§ Christy Hardin of Poolville, psychology, Tarleton
§ Shelby Carter, Weatherford, education-dance, Ranger College
§ Amy Smith, Weatherford, nursing, WC
§ Karla Prewett, Weatherford, business, WC
§ Shelby Addy, Weatherford, nursing, Tarleton
§ Rebekah Horton, Weatherford, business, Abilene Christian
§ Arceli Mireles, Weatherford, business, UTA
§ Melissa Bragan, Weatherford, nursing, WC, and
§ Sidney Padgett, Weatherford, pre-nursing, Louisiana State

Amy Mercer, ZCPC Clubwoman of the Year 2010, presented the 2011 award to a very surprised and visibly moved Hobart. Accepting her award, Hobart, who works for the Bank of Weatherford, said, “This award belongs to no one woman, really; it belongs to each member of the Zonta Club of Parker County.” She then asked the members of ZCPC to stand, and she applauded them.

The ZCPC Clubwoman of the Year, which is an award selected by her peers, is presented to the one club member who has shown exceptional dedication to the mission of Zonta International, who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to the local club and to Zonta International and who continually demonstrates willingness to volunteer her time and effort to the Club’s activities and projects. following through on her commitments to the Club. She must have demonstrated outstanding performance within her own profession and be a person of impeccable character and ethics and one who serves as a role model and mentor for other women by her actions, thereby living as an example of the mission of the organization – advancing the status of women.

Elizabeth McGee, First Financial Bank, is the outgoing 2009-11 club president. On June 7, the new slate of officers for 2011-13 will be installed: Linda Bagwell, president; Hobart, vice president; Sharon Chisholm, secretary; Melissa Meyer, treasurer; and directors Soraya Joslin; Dr. Arleen Atkins; Amy Mercer and Lisa Graves. The installation and 2011-12 planning meeting will be held at the Wild Mushroom Steakhouse and Lounge, Weatherford, 6 p.m., and interested and prospective members are invited to attend as the club’s guests.

“We certainly want to extend the invitation and open the doors wide for new members,” said Bagwell. “ZCPC is an extraordinary club, and our members are those who understand the not only the local but the global perspective, as well, of our responsibility to advance the status of women in whatever way we can.”

Additional information: or the International site at

2011 Zonta Club of Parker County Clubwoman of the Year: Roxanne Hobart, left, accepts the 2011 Zonta Club of Parker County Clubwoman of the Year from Amy Mercer, the 2010 recipient.

Scholarship Recipients

Sports Calendar

Tuesday, March 3

  • Aledo Ladycats and Bearcats JV at Waxahachie JV Tournament at Waxahachie Country Club.

  • Aledo Bearcats at Crowley, JV 5:30 pm and Varsity 7:00 pm. *District Game

  • Aledo Ladycats vs. Crowley at Bearcat Stadium, JV 5:30 pm and Varsity 7:00 pm. *District Game

  • Aledo Ladycats vs. Joshua at AHS Softball Field, JV 5:30 pm and Varsity 7:00 pm. *District Game

Wednesday, March 4

  • Aledo Ladycats Varsity Orange at Glen Rose Invitational at Squaw Valley Golf Course Links Course.

Thursday, March 5

  • Aledo Ladycats JV at Brewer Tournament, Time TBA

  • Aledo Ladycats Varsity at A&M Consolidated Tournament, College Station, Time TBA

  • Aledo Bearcats Varsity at Southwest and Arlington Heights Tournament, Times TBA.
    Aledo Bearcats JV at Granbury Tournament, Times TBA.
    Aledo Bearcats Freshmen at Weatherford Tournament, Times TBA.

  • Aledo Ladycats and Bearcats at Boswell
    Aledo Middle School at Stephenville

  • Aledo Middle School vs. Brock at Brock High School, 4:30 pm

Friday, March 6

  • Aledo Varsity at Chisholm Trail Tournament, all day

  • Aledo Bearcats Varsity Black and Orange at Bearcat Brawl at Split Rail Links and Golf Club.

  • Aledo Bearcats vs. Burleson at Bearcat Stadium, JV 5:30 pm and Varsity 7:00 pm. *Senior Night & District Game

  • Aledo Ladycats at Burleson, JV 5:30 pm and Varsity 7:00 pm. *District Game

Monday, March 9

  • Aledo Ladycats at Burleson Centennial, JV 5:30 pm and Varsity 7:00 pm. *District Game

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes